The Unwanted – A Book Review

It’s time again to take a break from writing about anxiety (though I did just get my blood drawn and got a little anxious afterward), and write another book review! I just finished The Unwanted by John Saul and man, was it good!

Image found on Google Images

Copyright: 1987

Rating: 5/5

My Synopsis:

Cassie Winslow is forced to move back where she was born when a horrible accident occurs. Right from the beginning, Cassie finds it hard being accepted by her classmates. Her father, who she doesn’t often get to see, is happy to now have Cassie living with him. His daughter, Jennifer also looks forward to having a step-sister. Rosemary, Cassie’s stepmother, tries to accept Cassie but doesn’t find it to be the easiest thing to do.

Miranda is a woman that many people in Cape Cod consider to be a witch. No one talks to Miranda and people try to avoid eye contact with the woman at all costs. However, when Cassie arrives in the town, she finds herself oddly drawn to the woman.

Meanwhile, Eric Cavanaugh is the Winslow’s next door neighbor. His home life is difficult to say the least, but he is fairly popular in school. What will happen when Cassie and Eric meet and how does Miranda play into it all?

My Opinion:

This book was great! From beginning to end, John Saul uses clear imagery. There aren’t a lot of books where I feel that I can truly get lost in them, but this was one of them. The characters were described excellently and I really felt as if I got to know them. I loved the character of Cassie and I love how Saul manages to keep his readers guessing until the very end.

This book is advertised as terrifying but I consider it more along the lines of eerie. It has a lot of creepy scenes and it’s definitely gruesome at times, but there was never a moment where I felt like I jumped out of my skin. However, I did think that it had just the right amount of horror to it.

Many of you may know that I have the bad habit of not finishing books. It’s not that I don’t love reading, it’s just that it takes a really good book to hold my attention and to keep me wanting more. I couldn’t put this book down and I probably would have read it a lot faster if the typing wasn’t so small (I know that makes me sound old, but it’s kind of tiny)!

I strongly suggest that you guys read this book, especially if you like horror stories or want to read a book that’s not too scary, but creepy enough. The Unwanted has a great plot, great twists, and great characters. If any of you read this or have read it in the past, please feel free to let me know what you think!

I seriously almost don’t know how to describe how good this book was. It was well written and honestly, really, really interesting!

Standard

17 thoughts on “The Unwanted – A Book Review

  1. Pingback: Hell Fire – A Book Review | Getting Through Anxiety

  2. Pingback: Totally Should Have…Book Tag | Getting Through Anxiety

  3. Pingback: Books I Highly Recommend – Rest in Piece

Leave a Reply

