Hearts in Atlantis – A Book Review

heartsinatlantis
Photo Taken By B.W. Ginsburg/ B.G.

Copyright: 1999

Rating: 4.5/5

My Synopsis:

A  collections of stories put together as one, Hearts in Atlantis, is about war, love, and the unexplainable. From Ted and Bobby and their adventures to the Vietnam war and its surrounding events, Hearts in Atlantis is a fantastic story!

My Opinion:

To say that Stephen King’s, Hearts in Atlantis , is a good, well-written story would be an understatement. King manages to talk about the 60s – the war and all that surrounded it – and the mysteries of life in a way that is truly thought-provoking. Stephen King also is able to use about five different points of view throughout the novel without complicating the story. In fact, I found myself enjoying the different POVs and the way that it, actually, helped the flow of the story.

Another great thing about Hearts in Atlantis are the character descriptions and how truly invested you become in each and every one of the characters’ lives. I must say that this is, without a doubt, the best example of successful character description I’ve ever seen! Just when you think a character may be forgotten, you’re proved wrong in the best way possible!

If I had to nit-pick, I would say I have two main issues with this novel. For one thing, it’s very long and if you don’t read the book in one or two days, you can very easily forget some of the minor characters. In fact, I found myself having to go back a bit when some of these character’s last names were mentioned. I had to refresh my memory as to who they were. Also, I think that if you haven’t read the Dark Tower series before Hearts in Atlantis (which I did not), the end of the novel still leaves some questions unanswered about one of the characters. Of course this may have been done on purpose so King could draw you to read the Dark Tower series, which does make sense. If this is the case, he did a successful job. I’m not sure if I’ll ever read the series, but I admit that I am quite curious. [Goodreads]

5 Replies to “Hearts in Atlantis – A Book Review”

  1. I currently have The Dark Tower series on my TBR list from him (and I have a rule that I only have one book from one author on there at a time unless I own the book), but I’ll keep it in mind when I finish that! I was debating switching out TDT for It, even though I know now the true nature of It and it’s amazing and horrifying and something that would be perfect for someone who wants to write horror should read hehe. But I think I’ll keep Dark Tower on there for now 🙂

    1. What’s TDT? Did you mean It? My dad was watching it once when I was little and it scared the crap out of me! Thanks for liking my review! Anyway, Hearts in Atlantis was great and so was Green Mile. I need to read more of his books!

      1. Oh sorry I was abbreviated The Dark Tower! I’ve never seen the movie itself, though I know they’re making a remake of it. I know about the book’s ending/true nature due to one of the YouTubers I watch. He does Game of Thrones/ASOIAF videos and was doing a comparison with It, because ASOIAF, while not a horror story, has horror elements to it. It got me interested.

        I enjoyed The Green Mile movie, and I’ve always wanted to read The Shawshank Redemption, or the story that was based on.

Leave a comment

And...Action

Movie Reviews by B.W. Ginsburg

Samthefangirlreviews!

Book Recommendations, Reviews and the occasional poem or flash!

capturelifewriting.wordpress.com/

Celebrating life one word at a time

Anxiety Jar

Learning How To Overcome Anxiety

The Cat's Write

Milly Schmidt

Travis and the Brain

My Journey Living with a Traumatic Brain Injury

Rachel Is Writing

...about fiction, thought spirals, and other adventures.

Sea of words

Life is a beautiful chaos 💗✨

Awareness

Happiness is our birthright.

anxiousgal.wordpress.com/

the diary of a college student with anxiety (among other things)

bookishmommy

Reading and reviewing in between play dates and tantrums

M.L. Davis Writer

Author. Blogger. Sharing Inspo.

Charmed Book Haven Reviews

"The World Is a Story Waiting To Be Reviewed"

gracethoroughgoodbeauty

Beauty and lifestyle Blog

The Meow Place

Hassle-Free. Idiot-Proof. Simple Cat Care.

Diana Anderson-Tyler

Novelist, Blogger, and Caffeinator

Sollie FilmTV Reviews

Reviews of Films and TV Shows, Old and New.

ED A. MURRAY

Memoir Ghostwriter | Author

KatieMai Productions

Original and Creative

Rants by The Goddess

Be prepared for nonsense and unwanted opinions.

The Appreciation Factor

All things Appreciation: Things to Appreciate and the Ways we look at, Show and Think about Appreciation.

Crazy-NOS

This is a Kiracracy

Author, Kim Knight

Award Winning and Best Selling Romantic-Suspense & Thriller Writer. (London, UK)

Sprout & Blüm

“Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow, it empties today of its strength.” - Corrie ten Boom

Casey Carlisle

Book Blogger Phenom...

thedeepthinkersclub

It's all about interpretation. Tell me what my poetry means to you!

Jade's Bookshelf

The library is open

Embracing Authenticity

Don't be ashamed of your story it will inspire others!

Living in Stigma

(Mental illness stigma and people struggling with chronic pain)

MovieBabble

Ramblings of the Cinema

A day in the life...

A story about a 23 year old woman who suffers with depression.

Arrowhead Freelance and Publishing

Making the world a richer place, one story at a time

Life Lessons From Around the Dinner Table

Live Simply Love Deeply Dine Well

Neurodivergent Rebel

Refusing Assimilation into NeuroTypical Society

The Daily Rejection (A Writer's Woe)

A guide to finding your creative inspiration in the face of rejection

The Sunshine Moodlet Blog

Find joy today! ♡♡

The Shameful Narcissist Speaks

Fanfiction, essays, reviews, and more.

anxietyismylife

lets do this together?

CrazyWolfGirl

Some people try to hide from their imagination. I, however, search for mine.

littlebookynook.wordpress.com/

Where I talk about books and other randomness

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff