Progress Update

I know a couple of you have mentioned wanting to hear about my progress in terms of both my resolutions and getting through anxiety, so I thought I would share them with you.

“The Plan”

As I mentioned before, my new plan for exercising and facing my fears on a more consistent basis was that I wouldn’t allow myself to write until I did some exercising. This plan worked for a while, but eventually I didn’t think much of the “before I write” part. What I mean by this is that, while I’ve been exercising fairly well since the new year started, I haven’t really made sure that I don’t allow myself to write until I exercise. Sometimes I do, but mostly I just make sure I exercise. So while the plan hasn’t totally worked how I expected, I have been exercising more which was the main point.

New Year’s Resolutions

-Exercise more on a consistent basis

  • I think I’ve been doing pretty well at this. I’ve been walking up and down my stairs, I bought an exercise ball that I’m trying out (it’s a little tricky at first), and I’ve been doing some new types of stretches. Special thanks goes to my great friend Carla for sending me some excellent YouTube videos. If you’d like to check them out, here they are:

-Practice facing my fears on a consistent basis

  • While I have gone out a few times since the new year, I’ve also struggled a little while out. Still though I’m attempting to face my fears which is important. I will admit though that I’m still shying away from some opportunities out of fear and anxiety.

-Write more and try harder to work on my new story

  • I wrote a new short story! It’s only nine pages long but I’m pretty proud of myself. The other idea I was referring to when I made the resolution about working on my new story isn’t going well though, I’m afraid. However, I don’t think this is totally my fault. As I wrote about in my post, Some Ideas, some stories just don’t work out like you may have hoped. This does not mean though that I’m giving up on this idea – I’m just putting it on the back burner at the moment.

-Think positively

  • I think this is something I really struggle with. I am trying to think positively, but as many of you who struggle with anxiety know, it’s not always very easy. I am trying though.

-Try to read more

  • I’m currently re-reading one of my favorite books, Tell No One by Harlan Coben. He’s a great author and I’m really enjoying reading!

Summary

All in all, I think I’m doing okay. I think I’ve been exercising more which is good (though I still should be doing it a lot more) and I’m very proud of my writing accomplishments so far. I’m also happy that I started and continued re-reading Tell No One since it’s a fantastic book and since reading has always been something I’ve enjoyed. While I do admit I still have a long way to go, I think I’m doing okay.

 

Standard

10 thoughts on “Progress Update

  1. I think you’re doing fantastic!!

    Also, I love pilates! I’m so glad you found something you enjoy – plus, it’s good for stretching. I’ve been meaning to start doing pilates/yoga at least once a week this year, but I’ve been absolutely slacking.

    I’m super proud of you, either way. 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

