How It Feels

I hope that everyone had a Merry Christmas yesterday and a great day! Today I’d like to talk about something pretty amazing that I experienced while out for the holidays.

While usually I’m pretty calm when I’m at somebody else’s house, I don’t usually walk around a lot.My anxiety makes me feel kind of shaky, weak, and off balance so I usually stay on the couch while away from home. However, yesterday I actually got up myself and walked in and out of the kitchen. I also sat down at the kitchen table and talked to my aunt.

Now maybe to some, this isn’t a big deal. Heck, there was a time when these kinds of things wouldn’t have been a big deal to me either – man I miss those times. However, it felt really good yesterday doing something with little anxiety – I felt like my old self.

These times in our lives remind us that we have the strength to get through our anxiety and that there is physically nothing wrong with us. Anxiety can play tricks on us, but in the end, that’s all they are. Anxiety lies to us all the time and it’s times of success that we have to hold on to, for these are the times when our true selves are revealed.

Something else that these times show us is the importance of practice. If we want to continue to experience times that are free from anxiety, we need to be consistent in exercising and facing our fears.

We can get through our anxiety! We just need to believe in ourselves and work hard! It feels wonderful to see ourselves making progress and returning to a life that we can fully enjoy!

Standard

28 thoughts on “How It Feels

  1. Eeee!! I’m so happy for you, & I’m so proud of all the hard work you’ve done to get to this point of enjoying the holidays with your loved ones. Keep up the great work!!

Leave a Reply

