Peace, Love, &…..Politics?

Kristian writes an amazing post on politics and religion and how friendship is more important!

Life Lessons From Around the Dinner Table

I can’t tell you the number of times I have sat down and started to write about my political views, because..well, quite frankly; I am fed up!  I can’t tell you the number of people who have told me they have lost friends over this years political debate. All I can do is shake my head. Can’t we just agree to disagree? If I decided to stop being friends with people who didn’t share the exact same political views that I do, well I wouldn’t have any friends. Seriously people, when your heart is hurting & you need to reach out to someone are you going to be able to call Donald Trump or Hilary Clinton? No, they have far more important things to deal with than your broken heart…it’s a shame you let your friends go, isn’t it?

Every time I try to write about politics it leads me…

View original post 314 more words

Standard

6 thoughts on “Peace, Love, &…..Politics?

  1. I think this is a good idea in theory, but it’s not really “just politics,” is it? When someone says, “I support Donald Trump” what they are saying is “I am willing to excuse someone accused of raping a child and groping multiple women. I am willing to look past outright racism, homophobia, and anti-Semetism.”

    It may be politics, but it also has very real outcomes for very real people. To say “I support that” is basically the same thing as saying, “I don’t support women, or the lgbt community, or people of color.” Basically, “I don’t support YOU.” Why would I want to be friends with a person who thinks so little of me?

    (I use Trump as an example because he is such an atrocious human being, but the argument could just as easily be made for Hillary, or any other political person [except Michelle Obama who is flawless].)

    • You make an excellent point, Aidan, and I see where you’re coming from! I’ve never understood it before (why people stop being friends with people due to politics), but this whole thing with Trump has made me understand it a little more. When someone says they support Trump, I immediately think, “What’s wrong with them?” and wonder what kind of person they must be. It’s hard to look past, but I get what Kristian is saying as well.

      • I will admit, I can usually look past differing political viewpoints, because I’ve never had a friend who’s political views were so wildly disrespectful. This is the first election where I’ve actually said, “I couldn’t be friends with someone if they support this candidate.” Admittedly, it’s also only Trump. Like, if someone is voting third party, even though I don’t agree with it, I don’t think less of them as a person.

Leave a Reply

