We’ll Get Through This!

For almost a week now, I’ve been struggling with something. For a while I was doing really well, but for some reason lately, things have been tough. It’s not that I haven’t been trying, but when it comes down to it, I can’t seem to get this particular thing accomplished. To be honest, it’s starting to really upset me.

I know deep down that I can do this, that I can succeed. I’ve seen myself do it before and I know I have both the ability and strength to get through my anxiety. Still though, it’s hard. It’s hard to see myself make so much progress and then see myself taking steps backwards. I don’t want to lose momentum.

It’s weird. On one hand I have faith in myself, but on the other, it’s difficult to have that faith. It can be difficult to believe you can get through something when you keep seeing yourself shy away from the challenge at hand. However, I know deep down that I can do this!

When you start to notice that you’re struggling, you have to take actions to prove to yourself that you’re stronger than your anxiety. Take me for example. I’ve been having a hard time doing something lately so what am I planning on doing? I’m planning on exercising and stretching more – showing myself that I can get through this!

I have another piece of advice that I think will be helpful. While I know that this isn’t always easy, sometimes we need to stop putting so much pressure on ourselves. Every day since I’ve been struggling with accomplishing the task I’m speaking of, I obsess about it. I worry that I’ll never be able to get it done, I worry that I’ll fall into the pattern of not succeeding. My advice? Try your hardest not to think about it. Say to yourself, “Okay, I’m struggling with this. I’ll try my hardest to stretch, exercise, and practice facing my fears in small steps. I won’t think about [insert task here] for the rest of the day. If I get it done tomorrow, great. If I don’t, I’ll keep working on it”.

Obsessing can be a dangerous thing. Obsessing can make problems seem bigger, scarier. Obsessing just allows anxiety to build up and control us. DON’T ALLOW ANXIETY TO WIN! Remember: you are stronger than your anxiety!

Standard

12 thoughts on “We’ll Get Through This!

  1. I really needed to hear this today. I was doing really well for a couple of weeks, but then there was a slip up and I completely lost momentum. It’s been a struggle not to let the anxiety and depression demons pull me down.

    My sympathy is with you while you’re struggling with your own stuff, but it’s also nice to know that we’re not alone!

  2. You read my mind here! I was going to say, “oh well, sometimes breaking down big, overwhelming stuff into smaller steps is helpful,” & then I read the next line & BOOM! there it was! 😀

Leave a Reply

