August Alphabet Music Challenge – August 25th

Since I can’t think of any artists or bands that start with the letter ‘Y’, I’m going to list some singers and bands that I listened to when I was younger, but not really anymore. Some of these will be repeats.

Avril Lavigne

I know that musicians sometimes change over time, but Avril Lavigne changed a lot in my opinion. She went from being different and stating that she was unlike other singers, to seeming to want to conform. I loved her first two CDs but after that I kind of lost interest. Her music just changed drastically.

Image result for Avril Lavigne

Google Images

Maroon 5

Don’t get me wrong, I still like their older music and some of their newer stuff is okay. However, just like Avril Lavigne, I feel like they’re so concerned with being ‘popular’, that they kind of lost their touch.

Image result for Maroon 5

Google Images

Bowling for Soup

I was never a huge fan of the band, but I did like some of their songs. It’s not so much that I don’t like them now, I just haven’t heard any of their recent stuff (nor do I care to). I still do like a couple of their older songs though!

Image result for Bowling for Soup

Google Images

Teddy Geiger

Every time a Teddy Geiger song comes up on my iPod, I change it. I used to like him because his voice sounded a little like John Mayer’s, but now when I hear his voice, it just sounds so cheesy (John Mayer’s doesn’t, Teddy Geiger’s does!).

Image result for Teddy Geiger

Google Images

Who did you guys like when you were younger but not anymore? Are their any singers/bands that you like their older stuff still but not their newer stuff?

Wanna participate? See schedule below!

alphmusc

Standard

6 thoughts on “August Alphabet Music Challenge – August 25th

  1. I was like that with Green Day! I LOVE their older stuff, but their Album American Idiot was just so poppy & unlike them. Now, I have heard a song from their latest album, and it has my inner punk girl screaming!! It sounds so much like their old stuff, and I love it!! I also don’t listen to Boy Bands, i.e. Backstreet Boys, N*Sync, O Town, etc.. as much as I used to, but ever now & then I’ll break them out and dance around my house! 🙂

    • That’s cool! I’m actually almost curious to try and listen to Avril Lavigne’s newest CD. I haven’t listened in a while. The last disk I tried to listen to over hers was called ‘The Best Damn Thing’ from years ago. SO disappointing!

      I’ve actually never been into boy bands like you mentioned. While everyone was listening to N’Sync and Brittany Spears in grade school, I was listening to Jewel and Eden’s Crush!

      • If you haven’t been able to tell, my taste in music is pretty eclectic. I like pretty much everything, except Opera! I used to hate country music, but now I like some of it, I still don’t like really twangy country. I don’t get what everyone see’s in Luke Bryan, I’m sorry, I don’t think he can sing! So anyway, I listened to Avril Lavigne, Backstreet Boys, Red Hot Chili Peppers, 3 Doors Down, pretty much everything except for country and Opera back in the day! Lol.

Leave a Reply

