Gilmore Girls : The Guys

Hey guys! After re-watching Gilmore Girls, I wanted to make a post about the guys that Rory (Alexis Bledel) dated and what I thought of each one. I thought I would compare and contrast them and then share with you my favorite. I know that the show has a lot of fans, including myself! So without further ado…

Google Images

Google Images …And here I thought he was Sam! How stupid of me! 😉

Dean Forester (Jared Padalecki) : I have to say that I liked Dean a lot in the beginning. He was really nice and yet at the same time, had that whole “cool” thing going for him. He was so respectful of Rory and I really loved that about him. The only problem with him was that towards the end, he got really clingy and jealous. In all fairness though, Rory did start liking another guy and the signs of her falling for someone else were definitely there. One thing that I loved about Dean though was that he was always there to stand up for Rory, even after they were broken up.

Google Images

Google Images

Jess Mariano (Milo Ventimiglia) : I liked Jess and I didn’t. I liked the fact that he was a little more outgoing and adventurous and I liked the fact that he gave Rory more space than Dean. Also, when Jess wasn’t trying to seem “too cool for school” he had a soft and romantic side to him that I really loved. The problem was that in the end, he was a bit selfish and didn’t share his feelings with Rory. I also hated the fact that he didn’t seem to want to fully accept that she wasn’t ready to sleep with him. I can see why Rory wanted to be with Jess since he was a little more laid back and adventurous, but at the same time, he was kind of a jerk. In the end, if I had to pick between dating Dean or Jess, I think I’d have to go with Dean! Admittedly, though, they both had some great qualities!

Google Images

Logan Huntzberger (Matt Czuchry): The first time I watched the full series, I kind of thought Logan was an ass. However, the second time around, I liked him better. Don’t get me wrong, there are still times when he’s a total jerk and seems to think he’s better than everyone, but there are also times when he’s really sweet. Additionally, you can tell that he loves Rory and would do anything for her – he was there for her through thick and thin. I wouldn’t have minded if they ended up together in the end, but as many know, they didn’t. I can’t totally blame Rory for saying no to him, she had good reasons. I do think it was a little unfair for Logan to give her the ultimatum of all or nothing.

Conclusion:

I think overall, I liked Logan the best. I really loved Dean’s character at first (and no, not because he’s in Supernatural!), but because he became really jealous and clingy he got annoying. Every time Rory was even around another guy he got frustrated or whiny and that got really annoying. Sure he had a reason to get that way a little around Jess because Rory liked him, but still. I liked him way more in the beginning. While Logan was kind of a jerk at times, he loved Rory. Plus, I think the way he was brought up kind of led him to be an ass at times. He definitely began to mature though which was good! So, out of all the guys Rory really dated, I’d choose Logan. However, if Dean would have stayed nice and caring and not become overly jealous, I definitely would have gone with him!

Who’s looking forward to Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life? I am!

Google Images

P.S. I hope Lorelai and Luke are together! I think they will be!

 

Standard

8 thoughts on “Gilmore Girls : The Guys

  1. I haven’t finished watched the original show, I’m stuck in season 6 because of too much adulting, haha, but I agree with you on most points, except I always wanted to punch Jess xD I’m on the fence about Logan, I’ll have to wait until I finish all the episodes to decide!

    • Yeah Jess was a tad annoying. I agree that Logan can be a real jerk sometimes too and sometimes he gets way to angry about stuff. Plus the whole partying thing is annoying. I was disappointed about what they did to Dean’s character because quite frankly, I like him a lot in the beginning of their relationship!

      By the way I hate the whole thing with Lorelai and Chris. Not sure if you got to all that though.

      • I liked Dean too, until he turned into a touchy stalker boyfriend. I did not get the whole messy storyline when they got back together and Rory had her first time, I felt it was stretching an old thread that was supposed to be gone.
        Yep, I just went past the half of season 7 (instead of reading and writing posts) and I could not care less about Christopher! But Luke got on my nerves with the way he handled the daughter issue, so I don’t know what I want now!

      • Yeah, Christopher was pretty frustrating. I agree with you about the Luke thing. He LOVES Lorelai and then when she wants to be with him, he turns her away! I still prefer Luke over Christopher though! I hate how Lorelai goes back to Chris though every time she’s feeling lonely. SO annoying! I can’t blame Luke for being confused about her.

Leave a Reply

