Holding On To the Feeling of Progress!

This morning I succeeded at something that I haven’t really done in a long time, or at least I haven’t done it as well as I did today. It’s something that I’ve been struggling with for a while and although I did manage to kind of succeed at it a little while ago, this is the first time in a long time that I really felt like I did a good job at it. It felt wonderful to make progress and realize that I have the ability to achieve my goals.

I just recently went to my therapist’s and he was saying how I have to realize that when I make progress and succeed at something that it’s not just luck. I wasn’t lucky today when I accomplished my goal, but rather I accomplished my goal because I am capable of making progress and facing my fears. I am stronger than my anxiety.

I think that it’s so easy (especially in times of struggling), to forget just how strong we are. I know that for me, it’s almost become habit to worry about things, to feel like I can’t do certain things. However, I have the ability to succeed and I’ve proven that to myself more than just once. It just takes consistent effort and practice to continue to show myself that I can get through my anxiety and overcome my obstacles.

It’s so important that when we succeed and make progress, that we hold on to the amazing feeling that achieving our goals provides. Achieving our goals proves to us that we are capable of making progress. Please realize that when you succeed at something, that it’s not just luck, but rather it’s your hard work paying off!

Standard

20 thoughts on “Holding On To the Feeling of Progress!

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    THIS IS AMAZING B! And that statement needs to be in all capitals because IT IS AMAZING! I am so, so proud of you! You are slaying it, woman! xxxx

  2. When my therapist tells me how much I’ve accomplished, it scares me. I have Borderline Personality Disorder, with which the symptom that prevails is the fear of abandonment. If I accomplish so much, it scares me. I start feeling like she’s going to abandon me. We’ve talked about this symptom after she has not come in on a day when I have an appointment with her. It happened when she said she couldn’t justify my coming every week any longer, because of my improvement. It happened again Wednesday, when she threatened to see me every three weeks if I didn’t come up with a goal that I need to work towards. She really scared me when she said that.

Leave a Reply

