New York Times By The Book Tag!

Hi guys! I just saw this awesome tag over at Poppy’s Best of Books and thought I would participate! Please feel free to do the same and let me know if you do! Thanks!

Questions:

What book is on your nightstand right now?

Stay Close by Harlan Coben! I was re-reading Wicked but it was going kind of slow. My mom found me Stay Close really cheap so I started reading that instead!

If you could meet one author (living or dead) who would it be? What would you ask?

Harlan Coben is my favorite actor but I think I’d have to go with John Saul. I struggle a little writing imagery and Saul is amazing at it!

What books might we be surprised to see on your shelf?

Maybe the couple of non-fiction books I have? I don’t know.

How do you organise your personal library?

Not very well, actually! It’s sort of my author and title, but also by size. I refuse to put a small book under a big one even if that’s how it would go alphabetically! There’s a such thing as something looking awkward!

What book have you always meant to read but haven’t gotten round to yet?

A lot of books that I haven’t finished (I know, I should be ashamed – and am!). Some of these include Zoo by James Patterson and Missing You by Harlan Coben.

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t?

I don’t really know. I do know though that even though it’s well written, I find Harry Potter highly overrated!

What kind of stories are you drawn to?

Thrillers and more recently, horror stories. I also love books with well written imagery! I like to be able to see with my mind’s eye what’s going on!

What do you plan to read next?

Hopefully I’ll be able to re-read Wicked. I really do want to.

I Tag…

Everyone, especially book lovers!

Standard

29 thoughts on “New York Times By The Book Tag!

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Ha ha ha ha I’m the same. I love putting everything in alphabetical order but book size is SO important. I haven’t worked that one out yet. It’s incredibly frustrating!

  2. Ariel Lynn says:

    I found Wicked to be a bit slow, especially towards the end. But, if you’re a fan of that type of book, I would HIGHLY recommend “Mirror Mirror” by Gregory Maguire. As with Maguire’s other books, it’s a re-telling of a classic faerie tale; in this case, it’s Snow White.

    I thought it – along with other books by Maguire – was WAY better than Wicked (even though I loved the musical version lol).

    • That sounds cool! I know what you mean, the book is kind of slow which is why I took a break from it. I’m the type of person that when it comes to reading, I like books to be fast and exciting! The musical was great!

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        I would definitely check out “Mirror Mirror” if you want something more fast-paced & engaging. I had trouble putting it down! But, if you’re anything like me, you probably have tons of books to be read & you don’t need more recommendations. 😉 (I have over a hundred un-read books on my bookshelf at the moment.)

      • Ha! I like books though where you see the “other side” of the story! The problem is that while I remember the basics, I don’t remember every detail of Snow White!

        My bad habit with reading is that I tend to stop reading in the middle…even sometimes when I like the book!

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        Snow White is pretty straight-forward: Young woman has evil stepmother who wants her dead, young woman runs away, meets 7 dwarves who help her out. At least, that’s the very, bare bones, basic summary. I wouldn’t want to give anything away, should you choose to read the book at some point from now until eternity. 😉

        Oh my gosh… I don’t know how you can bring yourself to stop reading a book in the middle! I usually force myself to finish a book, regardless of how terrible I think it. Then, I just write a review on why I think it was terrible & give it a bad score on my “Books List” I’ve been keeping since 1996 (name, author, & a possible score along the lines of “Very good,” “Eh,” or “Terrible). But, I’m a bit weird. LOL 😀

      • Yeah, I guess I knew the basics!

        I don’t think it’s weird that you keep a book list! I think that’s kind of cool! I don’t know what happens, I just kind of stop reading sometimes. It’s weird.

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        I think it’s cool too… in a really geeky sort of way. 🙂

        The basics of the story is there in Mirror Mirror, but, just like Wicked & his other fantastic books, he takes it in a TOTALLY different direction from what we know as the original faerie tale. Honestly, I love Maguire’s work… but I think Wicked was my least favorite thus far, despite it’s incredible popularity.

        Do you get bored or is it like you find another book that really, really excites you & you can’t wait to read it?

      • Thanks again for the suggestion! I might just look into it!

        I think I get bored. I feel like if it’s not exciting every moment, I just kind of put it down. The more you put off reading, the harder it is to get back into it! I’m reading Stay Close by Harlan Coben now though and enjoying it!

      • Ariel Lynn says:

        That’s understandable… we, as readers, want our minimal time we have for reading to be constantly entertaining.

        I hope you stick with Stay Close & it’s everything you hope it should be! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Tag #3: The New York Times By The Book Tag | Hot Shot Headlines

Leave a Reply

