Seizing Opportunities!

Hey guys! As many of you know, my dream career is to be a professional writer. For many years, I’ve been writing different poems, stories, and articles and submitting them to various places in hopes to get published.

Now I admit, it’s been a struggle. I know that there have been plenty of famous writers for whom it’s taken years and years to become successful, but that doesn’t mean that it wouldn’t be nice to see my work published at an early age. Now, don’t get me wrong, I haven’t gotten any novels published or made any money for the one poem that I had published, but I have had articles published now on different sites and blogs. The feeling is amazing! I also just recently got an amazing writing opportunity and am quite happy about it!

Most of the places that have published my articles have not offered me money, but that’s okay. Would it be nice if all these places paid for writing? Of course! However, I don’t write for the money or even the fame, but rather to get my work out there, and in many cases, hopefully help others.

Ever since I started writing this blog, opportunities have been coming my way. I have written guest posts for other blogs, I have written for The Seeds 4 Life (Thank you so much, Matt!), Battle of Mind, Youshare Project, and The Mighty. All of these bloggers and blogs have allowed me to share my experiences and I thank each and every one of them so much! I am so honored to be given the opportunity to be a part of these sites.

While I had some friends come to me and ask me if I’d be interested in these opportunities, I also had to do a great deal of the work myself. I had to search for the sites, research them, and then of course, write for them. I couldn’t just hear about the opportunities, I had to seize them!

I’m happy that I took advantage of these opportunities. I’ve met some fabulous people and discovered some great blogs! I’ve found that I do have the ability to write well and help others through my writing. Also, I’m proud to say that I feel like I’m on the right track to success!

I wanted to write this post to remind all of you that you have the ability to succeed, to accomplish your goals. Things may not come all at once or even quickly, but if you keep working at it, success will happen! Please don’t give up on your positive dreams!

 

**A special thank you to everyone who has worked with me and supported me!

Standard

20 thoughts on “Seizing Opportunities!

  1. So exciting! I’ve learned so much in a short amount of time from the blogging community. I’m looking into self-publishing my novels (once I edit them), and then also being a contributor (The Seeds 4 Life, etc.). I’m so happy for you!

    • Thanks! The Seeds 4 Life is a wonderful site and Matt (who runs it) is really supportive and kind! If you find out how to self-publish, I’d appreciate it if you could let me know! I’m also working on a story now!

      That’s exciting that you’re thinking of self-publishing by the way! Congratulations!

      • My thought right now is going through Amazon, but I need to edit everything first. And editing takes time and effort!

        I’ve published what I’ve written, so far, on my own blog. I called it the “Writing Wednesdays” series. It contains my NaNoWriMo efforts from 2012, 2013, and 2014. I skipped 2015 because of my wedding, honeymoon, and Thanksgiving being back-to-back-to-back!

        Thank you so much! I’m so excited (and overwhelmed) by all of the options that are out there now.

        My husband works a freelance gig for a small publishing company in the Virginia Beach area. If you want to discuss it further, let me know, and I’ll give you my e-mail address! This is so exciting.

      • I’ve heard that Amazon is a great place to start! That’s great that you’ve published some of your story on your blog!

        This may be a dumb question but do you have to live in the Virginia Beach area to work for the Freelance company or is it something you can do anywhere from home? If you can work from home, I’d love more info! Thanks!

  2. Ariel Lynn says:

    This gives me some hope because, like you, I have dreams of being a writer. Thank you for sharing this; it makes me feel good about beginning my blogging journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

