Giving Yourself Too Much Time To Think

Thinking is a good thing – it is. Having a lot of time to do things is a good thing as well. The problem comes into play when we spend too much time on negative thinking.

Yesterday I saw my therapist. He suggested that I come up with a more structured schedule to follow in order to hold myself accountable for practicing facing my fears. I agreed with him that this was a good idea. It was decided that I would set my alarm clock for 9:00 a.m. and start getting things done after that.

Well, I woke up early. Now, this is actually a good thing. It gave me more time to get up and get working on making progress. The problem? The problem was that because I got up early, a part of me felt it was okay not to do anything right away. That’s where I went wrong. Right away I should have gotten up and started exercising. However, I didn’t and my mind started wandering.

I started wondering about the what-ifs and although I also started thinking of things I could do to make more progress, I also started worrying that my plan wouldn’t go well. If I would have gotten up and focused on exercising instead, I probably wouldn’t have caused myself to not do what I wanted to; I probably would have had more confidence. However, I gave myself too much time to over think and as a result, I didn’t do as well as I would have hoped.

Now don’t get me wrong, I did get things done and I did do a good amount of exercising so far. Also, my therapist told me to reward myself after doing a good job and that’s exactly what I’m doing right now – I’m writing this post and I just participated in the daily photo challenge and book challenge. As my therapist told me, we can’t always depend on others to give us rewards/approval. We have to learn to do that ourselves.

Anyways, over thinking can be a dangerous and tiring thing. The best way to overcome over thinking is to get up and focus on something more positive; something helpful instead of destructive. So the next time you get up early or feel like you’re going to start over thinking, get up and start moving!

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Giving Yourself Too Much Time To Think

    • I think the same often goes for school work and stuff. You’re so focused that you’re not thinking about other stuff. That is, of course, if you can get lost in the work. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

