“Is There Anyone Out There?”

Do you ever wonder if anyone else in the world feels like you do? Like a part of you knows that there are others who struggle, but still a part of you feels like you’re the only one who struggles in a very specific way?

While everyone struggles, everyone struggles with different issues. Also, everyone struggles in their own unique way. What do I mean by this? Let me give you an example.

I have severe anxiety. Now I know with 100% certainty that there are tons of others who struggle with severe anxiety. However, I also know that everyone struggles with anxiety in different ways and that everyone’s anxiety manifests in different ways.

Sometimes this is hard for me to deal with – the knowledge that I am probably the only one who struggles in the exact way that I do. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t want anyone to struggle in the same way that I do. However, at the same time, it would be comforting to know that I wasn’t the only one with these exact issues.

It can be difficult because I see how anxiety effects me, embarrasses me. I experience certain things that I don’t even mention on here – things that I hate and wonder if I’m the only one who experiences them.

The important thing to remember though is that everyone struggles. Even if it’s not with the exact same issues with the exact same effects, there are people who can relate; understand. There are people (and I thank every single one of you) who are here for me, who support me, and who have words of wisdom that they are more than happy to pass along. None of us are alone and all of us have the power to help each other and to be helped.

Still, I know what it’s like. I know what it’s like to wonder if anyone feels the exact same way as you and goes through the exact same things as you do. I know what it’s like to wonder if you’re ever going to get through your struggles, if you’re ever going to break free of what holds you back.

My point of this post is to remind you that even if people don’t go through the exact same things as you do, they go through very similar things and feel very similar to how you do. There are people out there who genuinely care about you and who will be there for you.

I want to thank everyone who supports me in my journey to get through my anxiety! I want to give an extra special shout out to Carla from The Melodramatic Confessions of Carla Louise, Matt from In Silence We Suffer, and Jen from The Anxiety Chronicles. You guys have helped me so much, especially this week!

*Picture quote found on Google Images. Song lyrics from Maroon 5’s great song, Harder to Breathe!

When you’re going through a hard time, remember that there are people who care!

Standard

7 thoughts on ““Is There Anyone Out There?”

  1. I couldn’t agree more! Everyone’s brain is different and no one will ever completely understand, but they don’t have to. They just have to be there x

  2. I hesitate to comment; never really know when someone would rather be “supported” in their anxiety, or if they actually would like to hear of those who beat it. I’m one of those who overcame anxiety and beat it until it is just a distant shadow , a toothless monster that no longer has any power over me. I’m not going to go into the “how I did it” because each one of us has her/his own tools available to deal with all of life’s issues, and we need to learn how to use them, not rely on the other person’s tool box. I just want to say that once anxiety is beaten life become full of promises; of beauty, of power and conviction. We have power over all other powers, we only need to activate that power. I call it self-empowerment. Mind over matter. I believe in me – nothing and no one else. That way, if I fail, it’s me that fails me, and I can fix that. If this resonates with you, good. If it does not, ignore it. And now… take care o’ you – you’re the only one that can do that.

    • First of all, congratulations on getting through your anxiety! Second of all, thanks for such an inspirational and motivational most. Sharing your story of how you got through your anxiety and now feel stronger helps me and others know that there is hope! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

