How to Stop Avoiding: The 24 Hour Challenge!

Please check out Morgan’s great article on how to avoid avoidance!

My OCD Voice

avoidance2Anxiety is tricky. It likes to lie to us, play games with our heads, and most of all find ways to stick around.

So for example, when it’s time to answer a stressful school related email, and oh my gosh thinking about it makes me feel stressed, and now my thoughts are racing, is it getting warm in here, and ah I don’t want to look at it, because this is making me feel anxious, so really what I should do is just… “click.”

Close the page.

Don’t look at it.

Don’t think about it.

Don’t do it.

Ah, now don’t I feel better?

Avoiding: one of anxiety and OCD’s most well-mastered tricks. Sure we feel better for a few seconds, maybe even a few minutes if we are lucky, but all too soon the anxiety comes back stronger and we still haven’t done or addressed what is stressing us out. So what do…

View original post 435 more words

Standard

2 thoughts on “How to Stop Avoiding: The 24 Hour Challenge!

Leave a Reply

