Realization

I haven’t been feeling that well this week and therefore I haven’t felt like exercising very much. Every time this happens I ask myself, “Why is it that when I am feeling better, I don’t practice way more than I do?”

This question almost always comes to mind when I’m not feeling well. I seriously can’t seem to find a good reason why, when I’m feeling up to it, I don’t push myself a lot harder in order to face my fears.

Don’t get me wrong, when I’m feeling better than I have been this week, I definitely practice more. However, more isn’t always enough. I should take advantage of when I’m feeling well instead of giving in to laziness.

To better illustrate my point, let me give you an example. Yesterday, I walked around a little, did ten stretches, did something that I wanted to get done and that was it. Don’t get me wrong, progress is progress but I didn’t do as much as usual due to not feeling well. I think that makes sense. Some may say that even when you’re not feeling well, you should push yourself almost just as hard as you normally would, but sometimes you’re just not feeling well. Period.

Now the day before I started not feeling well, I did do more exercises than yesterday. However, when I think about it, I should have done way more. The day that I was feeling fine, I did one hundred of the head/neck exercises that I do (instead of the ten when I wasn’t feeling well), I walked around the backyard, did some bicycle crunches, and did some other stretches/exercises. Now again, don’t get me wrong, that’s a lot of good that I accomplished that day. However, there were big gaps in between those times of progress when I could have been doing more to face my fears.

The bottom line? We need to take advantage of the days when we’re feeling well. We need to stop coming up with excuses for not pushing ourselves to exercise and face our fears. Things like “I don’t feel like it”, “I’m too lazy”, or “I just exercised an hour ago” aren’t always good excuses. More often than not, they’re not valid excuses at all. I know that sometimes it can be hard not to give into laziness and I know that sometimes we simply don’t feel like exercising. However, we have to think about what’s better for us. Is it better to be able to manage our anxiety and get through it or is it better to be lazy and not be able to face our fears when we need to the most?

Standard

4 thoughts on “Realization

  1. Your bottom line is echoed by my thoughts. I always feel less anxious when I work out.. Which is why I do it every day . On the flip side I do think that we can be really harsh on ourselves and we do deserve a break every now and again too. It is about striking a balance 🙂

  2. I feel that out shoulda, coulda, woulda’s make us more anxious in the end. every time I think I should have done more of something, I feel like I let myself down. I find t better to take one day at a time and be glad with what I did accomplish. So you did less because you felt sick. That’s good because you’re giving your body a break. You need that ☺️. As for doing more when you do feel better, I think that at that moment you’re doing what you can. In hindsight things can always be different or better. But if you just be proud in what you did accomplish, even if it was a little less, that will make you feel good! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

