Fem(+Me) Friday Book Tag!

I just got tagged by Rae over at Bookmark Chronicles for the Fem(+Me) Friday Book Tag! Thank you so much, Rae!

img_8380

The rules:

-Post this tag post on a Friday.

-Tag three to five other bloggers (female or male, doesn’t matter).

-Post the Tag image with this.

-If you’re going to start doing the meme on your blog please link back so there’s a pingback in the comments section for others (me) to check out

1. What’s the ratio of female:male authors in your shelves? You don’t have to give an exact amount, just approximately

Okay this may sound awful since I’m a female, but the female to male ratio of authors on my book shelves is 25:75. I’m honestly not a huge fan of female writers (I know – horrible, especially since I want to be a writer!). Then again, some of James Patterson books are co-written with female authors and they’re great books!

2. Do you have any preconceived notions about female authors? EG: they only write YA or chicklit?

Well I know that it’s not true, but for the most part the books I’ve read that are written by females are for young adults. However, I’ve also read a lot of books that are meant for adults that are written by women too. I guess though that for the most part, I feel like they lack something. Again, I know that sounds awful.

3.) Who’s your favorite female author?

I’m not honestly sure that I have one. Let’s say Cornelia Funke though. When I was younger, I liked The Thief Lord and Ink Heart by her.

4. Have you ever read a comic or a graphic novel written and illustrated by a woman? 

I don’t believe so. I used to read Rave Master but that was written by a male. Man, I’m not doing well here!

5. Have you read any LGBT books?

Nope

6. Have you read a book by a female author of colour?

Yes, many. I took an African American Lit. class in college. I can’t remember all of the authors’ names but I do know that I liked some of the stories. I believe I read some of Toni Morrison’s work.

7. Have you read any feminist Non fiction books? 

I don’t read nonfiction.

8. Who is your favourite female character? Someone strong and role model-ish 

Maybe Jane Margaux from Sunday’s at Tiffany’s? The book is by James Patterson and Gabrielle Charbonnet. Jane has to deal with a lot of negativity from her mother, but she’s tough and successful. Also a lot of characters that I’ve read about in my African American Literature course were admirable.

9. Is there a really popular female author that you haven’t read at all?

Ha, tons! Veronica Roth and Daniel Steele are just a couple. I don’t know, I’ve always just read more books written by males.

10. Is there a popular non feminist book that you really enjoyed? 

I’m not sure how to answer this.

 

I tag:

Kendra at Reads and Treats

Lizzy at Anxious Ramblings of a Fragile Mind

The Bookish Underdog

 

 

Standard

9 thoughts on “Fem(+Me) Friday Book Tag!

  1. Pingback: Fem(+Me) Friday Book Tag | Reads and Treats

Leave a Reply

