Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself

No one’s perfect – no one. Though some people seem to think they are, they’re not. With this being said, we all struggle, we all stumble, and there are times when we may not do quite as well as we may have hoped. Still, that doesn’t make us any less successful.

This morning, I accomplished something and yes, I’m proud of myself. However, I didn’t do as well at the activity as I’ve been doing lately. I’m not going to lie, I got upset and even now as I’m writing this, I still feel a little upset. At the same time though, I’m realizing something. I tried. Normally I wouldn’t even try at this activity because of my anxiety and I did. Also, though I struggled a little more than I have been lately and even though I got anxious, I still got through it and I still got done what I needed to get done.

It’s important to focus on the positive. Just because you may not have done something perfectly or as well as last time, doesn’t mean you weren’t successful. It also doesn’t mean that you start losing faith in yourself. You just need to keep practicing and reminding yourself that you just struggled a bit, and that’s perfectly okay and even normal.

I know that for some of us, it’s easy to immediately focus on the negative. After all, many of us are used to it. I know for me, it can be scary when I struggle, even a little bit, because I start to worry that it’s just the beginning of even more difficult times. However, there is no need to think this way. A little stumble isn’t the end of the world, we can get right back up and continue to do better!

So next time you don’t do as well as you would have hoped, don’t be so hard on yourself. Remember that you have made progress and that with hard, consistent work, you can and will continue to do so.

Standard

11 thoughts on “Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself

  1. Positive post. I had an anxiety attack this morning. I took my meds but it takes time to work. I started focusing on my breathing and tidying up and then did a massive work out in my living room. The anxiety has gone. We are only humans x

Leave a Reply

