Ideas for Tracking Progress

So I know how difficult it can be (especially during a panic attack or moment of anxiety), to always remember the progress that we have made in the past. Also, it seems to me, that it can also be hard to remember that we all have talents and positive qualities. So, how can we remember that we do have positive abilities and that we have made progress? Here are some suggestions!

1.) Participate in Sandy’s Grains of Sand. For more information, click here!

  • This is a great opportunity to write down positive events and any positive progress that you have made. Sandy created this creative project and I am so grateful that she did! It’s really helped me realize just how much I can and have accomplished. Thank you, Sandy!

2.) Write daily progress reports

  • This is similar to Sandy’s Grains of Sand, but it’s a daily account of everything you’ve done to practice facing your fears. This can include exercising and stretching as well. I do this and it really does help me realize how much progress I’ve made and can continue to make if I work hard on a consistent basis.

3.) Write on sticky notes positive accomplishments and stick them all around the house where you will see them.

  • I don’t do this personally, but I think it would be an excellent way to remind yourself of your progress. Plus, everywhere you go, you would be reminded that you are stronger than your struggles!

4.) Make a box filled with positive accomplishments and each day, pull one out and read it.

  • I didn’t come up with this idea myself but I have read about it (or something similar) and I think it’s a really good idea to constantly remind yourself of your progress. I don’t do this, but one day I might try.

5.) Have someone who is kind and trustworthy remind you when you are struggling that you have made progress. Ask them to give you examples so you can realize that this is true.

  • While you shouldn’t always rely on others for approval, etc., sometimes it helps to hear from someone else that you have made progress and that there are examples of the progress you have made.

6.) Set alarms/reminders on your phone that when they go off, remind you of something you have accomplished. For example, if you have managed to face a fear and succeed, you could have a reminder on your phone go off!

  • Setting a reminder that uses sound and has something that you can read, embeds the message into your mind that you have been successful in the past and that you can continue to be successful!

7.) Keep a notebook in your purse or pocket that is full of accomplishments that you have made.

  • I do this and it’s a great reminder when I’m out of the house of what I’ve been able to accomplish. It reminds me that I am stronger than my anxiety!

8.) Participate in The B.G. Getting Through Anxiety Talent Blog Challenge

  • This is a way to remind yourself of the talents you possess and how you can use them to help others as well as yourself!

Have you tried any of these methods? Do you find them helpful? If you have additional suggestions, please feel free to comment! Thank you!

*Just so everyone knows, I did not write this post as an advertisement for my challenge. I merely wanted to share some ideas for tracking and reminding ourselves of our progress/talents!

 

 

Standard

7 thoughts on “Ideas for Tracking Progress

Leave a Reply

