Trying

Sometimes for anxiety sufferers, trying can be one of the hardest things to do. We want to do something and we know we should, and yet our anxiety makes us feel like we can’t.

When we do manage to try, sometimes we don’t do as well as we would have liked. Take today for example. I had to go to the bank with my mom and I got really anxious. I needed her help more than I would have liked and I didn’t do nearly as well as I would have hoped. However, I realize that what’s important is that I tried.

I went to the bank, I stayed the whole time, and I got done what needed to be done. Sure, I struggled and felt embarrassed that I needed so much help, but I got through it. Maybe I didn’t get through it with a lot of grace, but I still managed to get through it. That’s important.

Not everyone always appreciates this. Sometimes you may be the one who can’t see the importance of trying and sometimes it may be the person you’re with. Regardless, you need to try to remember that it is important that you tried and that it is worth being proud of yourself. You know why? Because you didn’t have to try at all. You didn’t have to try your hardest. But you know what? You did try! And that, my friend, is something to celebrate!

So next time you make an effort to accomplish something and you struggle, remember that the fact that you tried matters. Even if it’s hard for you to see or if someone else doesn’t acknowledge it, that doesn’t change the fact that you did something that matters.

allhavedotry

Standard

15 thoughts on “Trying

  1. Congrats on making it through the bank 🙂

    I completely agree, and from experience today the feeling of regret/failure from not trying something is 100 times worse than attempting it and having a little hiccup along the way.

Leave a Reply

