Why Not Practicing Is A Bad Idea

As many of you know, I’m a big believer in the fact that consistent practice and exercise helps us get through our fears and over our obstacles. However, while I know the importance of consistent practice, I often fall short of my goals. I find that when I start doing well and getting better, I start to practice less. Why? I’m not exactly sure. I think it’s because I get so used to the fact that I’m getting better that I sometimes forget how I got there.

Let’s take for example, this one issue that I had been practicing overcoming. I had been working hard in showing myself that I had the ability to both distract my mind and get through something that usually made me quite anxious. Did practicing facing this fear help? Absolutely! Did I find myself getting better in this area? Absolutely! However, I soon started to concentrate on different issues and stopped working on the one I had been working on. So today, when I had to do what makes me anxious, I didn’t do so well. Why do I think that happened? I think I got anxious because I hadn’t practiced in so long.

Making progress is a good thing. In fact, it’s a great thing. However, we have to remember how we made the progress. I have no doubt that practicing on a consistent basis was what was helping me succeed. However, I took my progress for granted and I stopped doing the exercise that was helping me. So today, I paid the price and found myself struggling. Do I think I deserved to struggle? No. Does it make sense that I didn’t do as well in the past? Kind of. After all, I stopped doing what was helping me get through my anxiety.

If you struggle with something in particular, remember that practicing and exercising once in a while is not enough. For so long, we have told ourselves that we cannot get through something, wondered if we will ever get through it. We need to start showing ourselves that we can get through our struggles. We need to practice facing our fears and take the steps to show ourselves that we are stronger than our anxiety. How do we do this? We practice consistently!

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Why Not Practicing Is A Bad Idea

  1. This is a very good point. When we start doing better, we can kind of end up in this “cured” mentality, as though our progress is a permanent thing, like a tattoo. But really, it is henna on our arm that we must continually redo or else it will fade completely.

    Also, moving on to new things can be a distraction–granted it is necessary to work on other things as well, but trying to take on too much too soon can make us slip back. We need to give ourselves time to turn our current progress into habit before adding more and more.

    That is a big problem I have: I make some progress and don’t give myself time to ingrain the practice into my head so it requires less effort, so when I take on other tasks I end up overwhelmed because the first task and the second task combined take more effort than I have to give.

    • Thanks for your comment! I love your analogy of progress being like Henna. While it will always stay with us (for we can never erase the progress we’ve made), it’s not as lasting and strong if we don’t continue to exercise and slowly build on it! Thank you so much, I LOVE this! 🙂

  2. For me I find that keeping a record of my daily progress helps me to see what I’ve done, how far I’ve come and what I can keep doing to improve. It also helps so that if I skip a few days when I go back to it I can see the last time I recorded anything and realize that was 4 days ago which is far too long! So I can try to be better with my consistency next time. I’m definitely the kind of person for which visuals are my friend, but its also important to think of what kind of learner you are, and cater your recording processes to that (maybe videos, audio recordings, etc)

    • Keeping a daily record of your progress is a great idea. I actually do the same (my therapist told me about the idea). It’s a way for me both to look at what I did and for me to keep myself on my toes. Thanks for the comment! I’m looking forward to checking out your blog!

      By the way, you’re absolutely right, it’s important to find out what works for you and what’s the best way for you to learn!

Leave a Reply

