I know, I’ve Been There

I’m not going to lie. When I set out to accomplish something and then I don’t, I get upset. I get disappointed in myself and I tend to feel lousy. Although I know that not accomplishing something does not make me a failure (I believe a person has only failed when they completely give up altogether), that doesn’t mean that I don’t still sometimes feel like one.

It doesn’t feel good to set out to do something and then allow anxiety to stop you. It doesn’t feel good to want to do something that will make you feel wonderful and then not do it because your fear of something bad happening takes over. However, just because you may not accomplish something, that doesn’t mean that you are doomed or that you should beat yourself up over it.

It’s okay to be disappointed. In fact, if you didn’t care when anxiety got in your way of being successful, it might just show that you didn’t care about getting better. Disappointment shows that you know that you can do better and that you want to. However, at the same time, beating yourself up does no good. Instead, know that if you get up and practice facing your fears, that you will get better. Remember, no one is perfect and everyone makes mistakes, has regrets, and has moments that are difficult.

This post was originally going to be titled “It’s okay” because it is. It’s okay not to always get everything done that you wanted to. It’s okay if you have difficult moments, days, or even years. What’s not okay is to give up or to lose hope in yourself. You deserve better!

I want you all to know that I’ve been there. I was there this morning. I wanted to get something done but my anxiety got in the way. So instead, I practiced facing my fears. I did an exercise that I know helps with the issue that I encountered. Please know that you are not alone in your struggles. I wish you all the best!

On another note, I received a reminder from my therapist today that I haven’t been practicing and exercising enough times during the day. I’ve been allowing too much time to go by in between without practicing. This is important because the more we practice, the better we get!

Standard

11 thoughts on “I know, I’ve Been There

  1. I really needed to read this, today. Recently, some major plans of mine fell apart and I’ve been feeling really disappointed and frustrated that I wasn’t able to achieve this goal I wanted. So thank you for posting this. ❤

    • You’re welcome. I know it can be disappointing and difficult, but I can tell that you’re trying. There are days that will be harder than others, but we will get through our struggles if we work hard on a consistent basis. Also, we have to focus on the progress we have made! Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

