Think About – A Poem

So I found myself both disappointed and proud of myself earlier. While I struggled with something a little (this was the disappointing part), I also succeeded at something! As I was pulling myself together and trying to relax, I thought of the words to this poem. I think wanting to write some of the words down before I forgot them helped motivate me to get up and do what I needed to. So, here’s the poem. I hope you enjoy!

Think About

 

Think about how good it would feel

If you could face and beat this pain

Think about how good it would feel

If you could somehow lift this stain

 

Think about how good it would be

If you could beat anxiety once and for all

Think about how good it would be

If you didn’t answer it when it called

 

Think about what it would be like

If you could just simply wish it away

Think about what it would be like

If it actually obeyed

 

You don’t just have to hope

You don’t just have to wish

You don’t just have to imagine

You don’t have to ask “what if”

 

You have the strength

To get through your fear

And then simple joy

Will be the only cause for tears

 

© B.G., gettingthroughanxiety.wordpress.com, 2016.

Standard

12 thoughts on “Think About – A Poem

Leave a Reply

