“Groundhog Day”

Let me start off by saying that I’m not a huge fan of this movie (I find it slightly annoying). Still though, my therapist used the movie Groundhog Day as an analogy for my anxiety. It was a good analogy actually because like the movie, when I don’t practice facing my anxiety or exercise consistently, my anxiety repeats itself over and over again. Like the movie, Groundhog Day, the tough moments just keep repeating themselves in what seems to be an endless cycle.

I hate the endless cycle of anxiety and although I know how important consistency is, I often fall short of achieving it. My therapist said that I need to come up with a better game plan. I need to learn to depend on myself, to hold myself accountable for my practicing and exercising. I need to take advantage of all the opportunities at home to practice!

I told my therapist about the whole going to church situation; about how I want to go but I don’t know how well it would work out with my mom. I told him how she said if I get anxious, I could go in the other room but how she didn’t seem willing to leave if I needed to. He raised a good point. Instead of focusing on going to church at the moment, I should focus on becoming more comfortable in different situations at home. I should practice sitting in a chair like I would be at church so that if I do one day decide to go, I won’t need to depend on my mom and whether or not she’d be understanding. I’ll be able to go and not be too anxious to stay. Plus, if I did get anxious, I could walk out myself.

I’m going to try harder. I know I say this all the time, but I am. Just as my therapist reminded me, I’m an intelligent person. I love interacting with others, I love writing, and I love helping people. I’ve done great things before like go to school, etc. and I am stronger than my anxiety!

 

Standard

12 thoughts on ““Groundhog Day”

  1. Yes you are, and you are definitelu stronger than your anxiety! And it’s OK if sometimes you still get overwhelmed with it and need to take a step back or get some extra help. That’s part of it and I hope it won’t let you down too much. But improvements in general, even really small ones, can really improve your quality of life. And you deserve that.
    It’s a struggle, a really tough battle from time to time, but you can do it. Everyone can, if you have the right support, safe places and take steps as fast and big as you can handle. That’s all very personal and everyone needs different things.

    Good luck! Practising can be really helpful. I always have to practise and prepare a lot for doctor’s appointments. Preparing what I will say, what I’ll do in case …. (or we’ll do, since I often have my partner with me – but I’m building that off if that’s possible, this also depends on the doctor and specific thing that’s going to happen etc.). And practising things for examinations or (minor) surgeries. Practising a person touching me for example or the different position I’ll be in etc. Etc.

    I hope it’ll work for you too and that you’ll be able to go to church more and be more independent.

  2. Jo's Shelf Life says:

    I like the analogy a lot, and I agree that little acts to secure your independence, will make life a whole lot more manageable in the long-run. Best of luck!

  3. This brings up a really good point. I think that in most situations, there is a resource available to us that is a little closer to home. And, if we use it, it will prepare us for the resources abroad.Thanks for sharing.

    Fantastic advice as usual. 🙂

Leave a Reply

