Some Advice

Hey guys! So as you know, I’m planning on trying really hard this year to exercise and practice facing my fears on a consistent basis.

Now, I had set my alarm for 10:00 a.m. to begin exercising, but I have to admit, I was still pretty tired and did not feel like waking up. Yes, I know I probably should have, but I was tired. Anyway, when I did finally get up, I doubled the amount of the one exercise that I was planning on doing. I know that maybe this does not make up for the fact that I didn’t get started earlier, but I did try to make it right. My point? Just because you miss one opportunity or don’t do something perfectly, doesn’t mean that you can’t still make progress and be successful. I know I said this yesterday, but it’s true. Now, this shouldn’t be used as an excuse to try less, but we shouldn’t beat ourselves up for not being perfect.

Also, today when I was doing some other stretches, I noticed that I was having a bit of a difficult time. I’m not really sure why, but my legs seemed a little shaky. I usually try to stand on each leg for about fifty seconds each. For some reason, I was having a difficult time balancing on each leg for so long. So, I took a break, and when I felt ready, tried again. You know what? I managed to get it done. It was frustrating at first that I was having such a difficult time, but it didn’t make me a failure and it didn’t mean that I couldn’t do it. I just didn’t feel like I could at the moment and I was struggling a little bit. However, I didn’t give up. I took a break and tried again. When I did, I succeeded. What did this teach me? Don’t give up! It’s okay to take breaks, but not to give up completely! Yes, I already knew this, but it’s always good to be reminded!

Next up, I’d like to talk about some good advice that I received yesterday and that I’ve received before. Last night, out of nowhere, I got anxious. Now sometimes in life, we find ourselves rushing and when that happens, it can be hard to deal with anxiety. We know we have to get something done in a certain amount of time and if we’re anxious, it just makes everything seem all the more chaotic. However, last night when I got anxious, I called my dad and he gave me some simple, and yet great, advice. You know what he said?

He told me that I should take my time. I had no where to be, nothing to do, and was in no hurry. I could just relax and when I was ready, get done what needed to be done. You know what? It worked. I realized once I was starting to relax, that I didn’t need to hurry. What needed to be done could wait until I felt I could handle it.

Now, I’m certainly not saying it’ll always be this easy. However, sometimes we get so overwhelmed that we forget that some things can wait. We don’t always have to do everything right away. We can take the time to settle down; to relax. So next time you feel like you have to rush or you feel overwhelmed, stop and consider if you really need to rush, or if you can just take the time and wait until you feel more relaxed.

That’s my advice for today. I hope you’re all doing well!

 

progressnotperfection

Standard

9 thoughts on “Some Advice

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I love this!! Such great, solid advice!! And you know what? Chances are, tomorrow you’ll have no problems doing the 50 seconds at all! I’m so proud of you – you’re really achieving your goals and making massive progress! It makes me so happy to hear! Go B.G.!

    Also, for purely selfish reasons, I love when you post like this, because whenever you post like this, it motivates ME more for some reason. I just sit there, and think, ‘B.G.’s out and doing it, and I should be doing it, too!’ I love that your posts inspire me like that.

Leave a Reply

