2016 Resolution Update

So, last night I thought of a few more resolutions to add to my list. I know I already posted most of these, but I thought it was a good idea to post the others that I came up with. The newer ones are italicized. I wish everyone a Happy New Year (I know we still have a few days left!) and good luck with your resolutions!

1.) Practice and exercise more

  • We can never practice facing our fears too much. We need to practice and exercise in order to get through our anxiety and in order to feel better in general.

2.) Take inventory of my medication and make sure I have enough before I find out too late that I don’t

  • This is a difficult one, but very important. I have a bad habit of waiting until the last minute to check if I have enough medication and then if I don’t, I have to wait for the doctor to call it in. Up until now, it hasn’t been a big deal. However, I haven’t taken my anxiety medication in a few days and I’ve been feeling light-headed. I don’t know if it’s due to not taking my medication or if I’m getting sick, but either way, putting off checking ones inventory of medication until the last minute is not a smart thing to do!

3.) Don’t allow others to take away my happiness or knowledge that I am trying my best to get through my anxiety

  • There will always be people who don’t understand what we go through, but that doesn’t mean we should allow them to bring us down. As long as we are trying our hardest to get through our struggles, that is all that matters. I know this is not always easy to remember, but it’s the truth.

4.) Sleep Less

  • I’ve noticed that when I get really bored, I sleep. Then at night when I’m supposed to be sleeping, I find it harder to do. It’s gotten  really hard for me to stay up during the day and I don’t like that. Instead of sleeping when I get bored, I should use this time to practice facing my fears, exercise more, read, or write!

5.) Write More

  • My dad told me that I have all this time to write and that I don’t use it. He wasn’t being mean, he was totally right. I should use my spare time to write – after all I do want to be a professional writer one day! 🙂

6.) Read More

  • As I mentioned, I’ve always loved to read. However, after I read a few of John Saul’s books, I’m really looking forward to reading even more! In 2016, I’m really looking forward to reading Harlan Coben’s Fool Me Once that is coming out in March. I’m also looking forward to reading more of John Saul’s books and more literature in general!

7.) Try harder to push through my anxiety

  • This will probably be the toughest one of all. Often times when I feel really overwhelmed by anxiety, I just sort of give up. I need to push myself more. I know I’ll have to do this in small steps, but it’s important that I try harder.
Standard

27 thoughts on “2016 Resolution Update

  1. Very wise words!
    I have trouble with remembering medication too, ordering it and taking it. I now put a reminder in my phone to ping me when action is needed. Wish I’d thought of that YEARS ago hahaha!

Leave a Reply

