Have You Neglected Your Efforts?

So lately, I haven’t been exercising as much as I used to. Today, for the first time in a while, I lifted my five pound dumbbell forty times in each hand. I was curious as to how long it had been since I’d used it, and found out that the last time was in November. This may not seem like a big deal, but it is to me. It shows that I haven’t been practicing as much as I should be.

Also, I saw that in November, I was exercising a lot more than I’ve been recently. It’s not that I care less about getting better, but I feel as if my energy level has decreased (and maybe that’s because I’ve been exercising less and because the weather’s not as conducive to going outside to practice). Whatever the reason is, I feel ashamed in myself that I’ve been practicing and exercising less than I should be.

The more we put off stretching and exercising, the harder it becomes. For one thing, it becomes harder to get up the energy to do it, and for another, you may find yourself feeling more anxious to practice and exercise because you’re so out of practice.

So if you feel like you’ve neglected your efforts to get better, then try harder to reach the level of activity that you were once at. I know it may not be easy and that it may not happen quickly, but taking small steps to get back on track will help you see that you can in fact get back to making more progress! I wish you all the best and hope you all have a great holiday and holiday season!

Want a good idea for a resolution? Make a resolution to exercise more and practice facing your fears! However, you don’t have to wait! Start trying to get back on track now!

Standard

13 thoughts on “Have You Neglected Your Efforts?

  1. This happens to me often. I haven’t worked out in maybe 2-3 weeks. I try not to be too hard on myself though because life happens. Sometimes it’s best to stay in and lay down for a couple hours, because you may be busy the rest of the week. As long as you try your best to talk a long walk or like you did today, a short arm work out, than that’s great! It’s a start. I’ve been so busy that I have a hard time scheduling in my workouts. But that’s ok because we’re headed to Disney! I plan to work out at the resort. If I don’t and decide to relax with my family than I won’t be ashamed. And neither should you! We are human. Things happen. You haven’t worked out since Nov but you did today and that’s what matters at the moment ;).

      • I understand that for sure. I wish I worked out more but it just doesn’t happen that way. Be proud of yourself either way! Thank you! I’m excited to go to Disney!

  2. I just started working out again and I’m currently on day 7 of a 30 day plan but I feel much better. There are also websites and youtube channels that let you build your own workout plan or give you a pre-made one if you would find that helpful for staying on track 🙂

  3. carlalouise89 says:

    OMG, this is ME!!!! Seriously. I was on track, doing really well. I was doing pilates, building strength, walking Rosie almost every day. I was hurting, but I always hurt, and I felt like I wanted to get out, do things, like I was capable. And then I had that random break down (remember by Just Listen post?) and it’s like I just stopped. Like all my good habits broke. I couldn’t do it anymore. And I’ve wanted to get back into it, but every day I’ve been like, “I’m so, so tired. I just want to sleep. Maybe tomorrow.” Even basic things, that’s how I feel. I’ve been like, “I don’t feel like having dinner. I’m too tired. I’ll eat when I wake up.” This is SO good! I needed this! Today, I’m going to start over, I think!

    • I’m so sorry you’re going through this, I know how you feel! I think once we get out of our healthy patterns, we just start making excuses (even if we don’t intend on them being excuses). As my therapist says, we have to make facing our fears and improving our lives our top priority. It’s not always easy, but consistency is what gets us through our anxiety, etc. I wish all the best with getting back on track!

Leave a Reply

