“Don’t You Treat Me Like That, I Have Feelings”

Hi guys! Tonight I want to write about something that’s very important to me. Many of you may have experienced this, and for those of you who have, I’m sorry. Tonight I was treated like I was a child due to my anxiety. Let me just say that this is not a good feeling. While I understand that some people simply don’t know how to act or what to do around those who struggle with anxiety and other mental health issues, treating someone like they’re a child is not the way to go.

For one thing, while I do struggle with some things some times, I am still function normally. I’m intelligent, kind, and try my hardest to get through my anxiety. While I think people should care and try their hardest to understand what I go through, I don’t want people treating me like I’m a child or like I’m unintelligent.

I was treated this way tonight. Now I know that this individual did not mean any harm. However, I feel that it’s my job to educate others about people who struggle with anxiety and how (for the most part) we like to be treated. I know I can’t speak for everyone who struggles, but here is how I feel.

1.) While we want people to care that we are struggling and while we want people to talk to us about our issues (in a helpful manner, of course), we do not want to be treated like we are children. At least I don’t want to be. I want people to understand that if I’m anxious, I might need help with something, but I don’t want people to treat me like I’m strange or abnormal.

2.) Most people with anxiety function normally. Yes, our anxiety may make us struggle with simple things at times because anxiety sometimes tries to trick us into feeling like we’re unable to do things, but we are in fact, quite intelligent. Our anxiety does not diminish our ability to think.

3.) We have feelings and we know when we’re not being treated nicely. We’re not blind or deaf to the fact that you may be treating us differently. We want to be treated just like everyone else. We just want to be understood and maybe helped if we need it.

Again, I understand that my relative was just trying to be nice and I know he meant well. Still though, my feelings were hurt. Please remember to respect those who do and do not struggle with mental health issues. If you don’t know how you can help, ask.

The title of this post is a line from a great song, Doormat, by No Doubt. You can check out the rest of the lyrics here!

Standard

9 thoughts on ““Don’t You Treat Me Like That, I Have Feelings”

  1. That’s unfortunate! I hope you get better soon 😦
    I was wondering if people who suffer from anxiety, do they have irrational fears? Fears like everybody is out to get them or make them suffer and that they’re a magnet to bad luck?

Leave a Reply

