A Gift From the Heart and a Pledge

Okay, I have to reblog this post! Sharon from Curious Queendom wrote this amazing article about the kindness received from her niece. She also did a wonderful thing and pledged to listen to those in need and be a part in trying to end the stigma often attached to mental health issues.

I also appreciate the fact that Sharon and so many of you have taken the time to read my blog and truly show you care. It means the world to me! Thank you also to anyone who visits Jade’s blog as well as Sharon’s!

Curious Queendom

So, I have a niece that is currently 6 years old. Somehow, she has become one of the most sentimental people I’ve ever known. I guess I should’ve seen it coming as when she was 2 years old, she always carried around this pink blanket. Initially, she just caressed it or rubbed it against her cheek; eventually, she grew to call it her imaginary friend, “S.”

Anyway, last year before I deployed, I visited my sister and niece in January. My niece was really interested in knowing what I did for Christmas: what did I eat, did I get any presents, and did I have a Christmas tree? When I told her no, I hadn’t gotten any presents, her face changed, holding a sympathetic expression. Of course, I told her that it was ok and that I wasn’t sad or anything, but she took it upon herself to give me…

View original post 394 more words

Standard

3 thoughts on “A Gift From the Heart and a Pledge

Leave a Reply

